Group photo of #duncsbus at Glencoe!

A Weekend in the Highlands // Scotland Trip

To say that I enjoyed myself in Scotland would be an understatement. I had the grandest time up north!

Our first day began with making our way to Kings Cross Station to catch our train up to Edinburgh where we spent our first night at the Safestay Edinburgh Hostel. This train ride was actually my first, & I can now say that train travel is one of my favorite methods of transport. The ride was scenic & I got some good reading & napping done!

After getting settled with the gals I’d be boarding with for the evening, I ventured out down the Royal Mile where I found the sweetest little market inside of a church.

Of course I had to pop in & buy a few bits & bobs, as I love supporting local artisans wherever I go. 🙂

As the night ascended, I went off with my pals to try & catch a free ghost walking tour. However, because our group was so large, we missed out. 😦 But it was not all a waste, as our advisors Bea & Polly took us round to see Edinburgh Castle & Greyfriars Kirk Graveyard! Did you know that J.K. Rowling got inspiration for the characters McGonagall & Tom Riddle from people actually buried there? She spent quite a bit of time writing in the graveyard, apparently. Edinburgh is just a hub of Harry Potter treasures.  We spent a fair amount of time inside of Greyfriars, reenacting wand duels & roaming the gravestones. I love ~spoopy~ things of that sort!

As day two came upon us, we met our tour guides Duncan & Jamie prior to setting off towards the very north of Scotland. I was on Duncan’s bus (#duncsbus)! This day took us to Culloden Moor where a gruesome battle was fought for Bonnie Prince Charlie’s ascend back to the throne. I am in no way a war aficionado or enthusiast, but I can say that being there & hearing the story told by Jamie, a solemn feeling came over me. It’s something hard to explain, & I hope that one day you get the chance to visit & experience what I felt.

Further in the day, we ventured to Clava Cairn where famous stones are located! One was even used in the television program Outlander, in which Claire touches the stone & transports back in time.

Touching the stone! Sadly, I did not transport back in time.

Our third day began with Nessie Hunting at Loch Ness. Loch in Gaelic means lake, a fun fact for you. 🙂

Groupie at Loch Ness!

We also made a stop at one of the many castles to be seen in Scotland. I felt like I was in a fairytale!

Eilean Donan Castle, a filming location for The Private Life of Sherlock Holmes (1985) & more recently Made of Honor (2007).

That evening, we stayed at the quaintest place, Morag’s Lodge up in Loch Ness. They served us a home-cooked Scottish dinner made from local ingredients & after our meal there was a Tartan Toga Party! It was loads of fun. I learnt how to do a Scottish dance from our tour guide Jamie & karaoke-d the night away to good music surrounded with good company (even the hostel staff joined in on the fun!).

Day four was our final day up north. I would be lying if I said I wasn’t a bit sad. Scotland treated me well & the sights were beautiful. I had the best time with everyone. One of our final stops before heading back to Edinburgh to catch our train back to London was Glencoe, easily one of the most breathtaking places I have visited in this world.

A panoramic of Glencoe. Photos just don’t do it justice!

Every day in Scotland was full of adventures & the people I encountered were so welcoming & friendly; the Highlands have certainly stolen a piece of my .

Here’s to Scotland & the memories it gave me. Hopefully I will be able to visit the Highlands again.

Holding the flag of Scotland with my fellow Student Representative, Ariel, at Glencoe.

My next adventure awaits! Until then, cheers,

Untitled

Leave a comment